Liu, Jiayin (刘伽茵)

Born in Beijing in 1981, Liu Jiayin is a Chinese independent filmmaker and educator. As her graduation project at the Beijing Film Academy, she completed Oxhide, her full-length feature debut. Liu used digital video and a series of long takes to stage scenes from the life of her family in their cramped Beijing apartment. Oxhide was screened at the 2005 Berlin International Film Festival, where it took two prizes, including the FIPRESCI Award in the Forum of New Cinema. In 2009 Liu finished her second film, Oxhide II, which premiered at the 2009 Cannes Film Festival as part of its Directors Fortnight program.

Selected Filmography

RoleTitle (English)Title (Chinese)Year
Director607 (Short) (Full Film) 2010
Director, Writer, EditorOxhide II (Trailer)牛皮贰2009
Director, Writer, EditorOxhide (Trailer)牛皮2005

Articles

Amato, Jean. “Reframing the Material and Imaginative Geographies of the Home : Chinese Filmmaker Liu Jiayin’s [刘伽茵] Oxhide II [牛皮二] (2009),” in Spaces of the Cinematic Home: Behind the Screen Door. Eds. Eleanor Andrews, Stella Hockenhull, and Fran Pheasant-Kelly. New York: Routledge (2015). 106-120.

Lovatt, Philippa. “‘Slow Sounds’: Duration, Audition and Labour in Liu Jiayin’s Oxhide and Oxhide II,” in Slow Cinema. Eds. Tiago de Luca and Nuno Barradas Jorge. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press (2016). 192-204.

Interviews

Edwards, Dan. “Family Life One Moment at a Time: Liu Jiayin on Oxhide.” The Beijinger (February 24, 2010): https://www.thebeijinger.com/blog/2010/02/24/family-life-one-moment-time-liu-jiayin-oxhide

Rist, Peter. “Interview with Liu Jiayin: 28th Vancouver International Film Festival.” Offscreen 13.12 (December 2009): https://offscreen.com/view/interview_liu_jiayin

Reviews

Cameron, Sandy. “A small triumph.” Real Time Arts 67 (2005): http://realtimearts.net/article/issue67/7880

Kasman, Daniel. “Rotterdam 2010: No Shot Repeated.” MUBI (February 1, 2010): https://mubi.com/notebook/posts/rotterdam-2010-no-shot-repeated

Kraicer, Shelly. “” Cinema Scope 25 (January 2006): https://web.archive.org/web/20060104223431/http://www.cinema-scope.com/cs25/spot_jiayin_oxhide.htm

“Oxhide II.” Icarus Films (undated): http://icarusfilms.com/df-oxh2

Mai, Nadin. “Oxhide II – Liu Jiayin (2009).” The Art(s) of Slow Cinema (November 12, 2017): https://theartsofslowcinema.com/2017/11/12/oxhide-ii-liu-jiayin-2009/

Reynaud, Berenice. “Men Won’t Cry – Traces of a Repressive Past: The 28th Vancouver International Film Festival.” Senses of Cinema 54 (April 2010): http://sensesofcinema.com/2010/festival-reports/men-wont-cry-traces-of-a-repressive-past-the-28th-vancouver-international-film-festival/

Rosati, Adriana. “Documentary Review: Oxhide (2005) by Liu Jiayin.” Asian Movie Pulse (May 10, 2019): https://asianmoviepulse.com/2019/05/documentary-review-oxhide-2005-by-liu-jiayin/

Schlumpf, Erin Shevaugn. “Liu Jiayin’s Spatial Politics of Reduction.” Mediapolis 5.1 (February 25, 2020): https://www.mediapolisjournal.com/2020/02/liu-jiayins-spatial-politics-of-reduction/

Weissberg, Jay. “Oxhide.” Variety (February 21, 2006): https://variety.com/2006/film/reviews/oxhide-1200518221/

Witkin, Daniel. “Liu Jiayin.” Reverse Shot (November 9, 2018): http://www.reverseshot.org/archive/entry/2507/Liu_Jiayin

Other

Picard, Andrea. “Spotlight: The Best Fifty Filmmakers Under Fifty – Liu Jiayin.” Cinema Scope 50 (2012): https://cinema-scope.com/cinema-scope-magazine/liu-jiayin/

Links

Liu Jiayin’s IMDb entry: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm1883665/